Main Menu

Full list of names, firms targeted in SGR land fraud

More by this Author

Director of Public Prosecutions Noordin Haji has directed anti-graft officials to arraign 14 people and three companies over suspected land fraud.

The directive was issued after the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) submitted a report on investigations touching on criminal activities involving the National Land Commission (NLC), Kenya Railways Corporation (KRC) and Ministry of Lands.

In a statement published on Twitter on Saturday, the EACC says its investigation revealed that Lands ministry irregularly allocated and registered parcels of land on the Railways Reserve.

“Further, NLC officials fully cognisant of that fact (above) proceeded to irregularly and illegally award and compensate the entities and persons in whose favour the registration was done. Regrettably, KRC who is the custodian of Railway Reserve actively participated in the entire process of compensation undertaken for and on their behalf by NLC,” said the statement issued by the DPP and posted on

The 14 officials and three firms ordered arraigned over alleged irregular and unlawful acquisition of public property are:

  1. Prof Muhammad Swazuri, chairman, National Land Commission

  2. Mr Tom Aziz Chavangi, secretary/CEO, NLC

  3. Dr Salome Munubi, taxation and valuation director, NLC

  4. Mr Francis Mugo, finance and administration director, NLC

  5. Mr Atanas Kariuki Maina, CEO, Kenya Railways

  6. Mr Victor Wahome Kariuki, land surveyor, Kenya Railways

  7. Mr Elijah Mwenda Nyamu, assistant land surveyor, Kenya Railways

  8. Mr John Mwangi Mwaniki, senior land surveyor, Lands ministry

  9. Ms Caroline Kituyi, registrar of titles, Lands ministry

  10. Mr Peter Ng’ang’a Mburu, registrar of titles, Lands ministry

  11. Ms Gladys Mwikali Muyanga, principal lands registrar officer, Lands ministry

  12. Mr Obadiah Mbugua Wainaina, private surveyor

  13. Mr David Barno Some

  14. Ms Esther Chebet Some alias Esther Fura Some

  15. Dasahe Investments Limited

  16. Keibukwo Investments Limited

  17. Olemetit Estate Limited